Review: Illusions by Aprilynne Pike

12 Aug

Series: Wings, book #3

Published: May 3rd 2011 by HarperCollins Publishers

Details: Hardcover, 375 pages

My Rating: 2/5

My Summary:

The previous two books in this series, Wings and Spells were not amazing, but enjoyable. Unfortunately this book is less than enjoyable, with no plot to speak of, no Avalon in sight and instead centering around an irritating love triangle between Laurel and her two boys. This is the end of the series for me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Synopsis:

Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that David was the right choice.

But just as life is returning to normal, Laurel discovers that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side will prevail.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My thoughts:

I have one word for this book.

Filler.

That’s all it was. Pure filler. Let me explain it to you:

There are 36 chapters in this book. Chapter 1 to 34 are devoted to the love triangle between Laurel, her human boyfriend David and fairy guardian Tamani. In other words, that’s 34 chapters of “should I choose this boy or that boy”, with no resolution at the end of it, I kid you not. Chapter 34 to 36 finally gives us a plot and some action, before it abruptly finishes in a.. yes, you guessed it right, a cliff hanger!

Now, the synopsis of the book promises something else entirely. I quote:

“Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible.”

Okay, did I miss something here? Danger, where? Apart from one page of sudden troll action (and chapter 34- 36), there was no danger anywhere. I certainly never felt that Laurel was threatened, and besides, she had about 200 sentries protecting her, plus of course her two suitors watching her every step. Was Laurel in danger? Nope, did not feel it, at all.

What I did feel was irritation. The main reason being the love triangle.

Now, if you’ve read my blog, you know I have nothing against love triangles, if they’re done well. This one however is ridiculous, and even more so since it’s the center theme of the book. Laurel’s indecisiveness annoyed me to no end. She kept bouncing back and forth so much that it had me feeling dizzy. She behaved like a spoiled child that wants to have one’s cake and eat it too. She would chastise David for being jealous, then go on and kiss Tamani. Then she would tell Tamani off for pursuing her, and in the next second throw a tantrum when he flirted/danced/talked to another girl. Seriously? My 6-year old cousin behaves more mature than that.

I was not impressed.

What would have saved this book for me, was a lot less teen-age drama and more of Avalon. I loved Avalon in the previous book Spells but here we only got a very brief glimpse of that world when Laurel visits her mentor Jameson. Other than that, it all takes place in the human world, with highschool, teen-age drama, teen-age angst and the obligatory school dance to finish things off.

There is one more book in the series to be published next year, but this is the end of the series for me. One more word of “David or Tamani” and I’ll be screaming out loud.

6 Responses to “Review: Illusions by Aprilynne Pike”

  1. jenika August 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    uhm… if I was not sure before if reading this book or not, now I am 99% sure I will not.
    If there is no news about Tamani and Laurell it’s better not waste any time.
    I agree with you, triangles can be ok if they are made properly. :(

    • tess August 12, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      Yeah, I’d say skip this one and go straight for the final book in the series instead, where I hope Laurel will finally make her decision. The obvious decision, which is Tamani!

  2. Samita @ Book Purring August 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Aww, I got the first one in this series as a free nook book lol I was looking forward to it, now not so much ::P

    • tess August 12, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      Oh I’m sorry about that! But you know, the first one is not that bad, since it does actually have a plot, that is, Laurel discovering she is a fairy. You might actually like it. It’s the sequels that start to get tedious with the never-ending love triangle and Laurel’s indecisiveness. Would love to hear what you think if you read it :-)

      • jenika August 14, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

        I actually liked more Spells than Wings… the plot is better in Wings, but in Spells something happened that made me enjoy the story muuuuch more (please don’t read anymore if you don’t want any spoiler) the kiss between Tamani and Laurell! And also Tamani was more present in Spells than Wings…

      • tess August 15, 2011 at 10:02 am #

        Well, that’s true, Tamani is more present in the sequels. I remember starting to like Wings the moment Tamani got more page time! Still, the plot was better in Wings, that is, there was an actual plot, which cannot really be said about the other two. Tamani and Avalon saved Spells, and so I enjoyed that one too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

